Catalog

Holds may take longer to fill due to library closures within the Sage Library System

Record Details

Catalog Search




CD Audiobook

The stranger in the woods [sound recording] : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit / by Michael Finkel.

Finkel, Michael. (Author). Bramhall, Mark. (Added Author).

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at Sage Library System. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Umatilla County Public Libraries. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Pendleton Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Summary:

"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Circulation Modifier Age Hold Protection Active/Create Date Status Due Date
Pendleton Public Library CD 974.1 F495 (Text) 37801000575793 Audiobook CD CD Branch_Only_3months 06/09/2017 Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 110192490X
  • ISBN: 9781101924907
  • Physical Description: 5 audio discs (6 hours, 19 minutes) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: [Westminster, MD] : Books on Tape, [2017]

Content descriptions

Participant or Performer Note:
Read by Mark Bramhall.
Summary, etc.:
"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
System Details Note:
Compact disc.
Subject: Knight, Christopher Thomas, 1965-
Hermits > Maine > Smithfield Region > Biography.
Recluses > Maine > Smithfield Region > Biography.
Thieves > Maine > Smithfield Region > Biography.
Survival > Case studies.
Solitude > Case studies.
Smithfield Region (Me.) > Biography.
Genre: Audiobooks.

Additional Resources